Help - Desktop (Linux, Mac and Windows)

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Concert VIP
Uberjannie

Why is Spotify chugging upload bandwidth when it is not streaming and why does it do that at all?

[ Edited ]

Hi.

I have been using Spotify for many years now, but what is weird is that it keeps using upload and maxing out my upload on my connection even if Spotify is not streaming. 

Monday to Friday I work as a system administrator for a large corporation and likes listening to music when I do my chores, but I noticed spikes in upload bandwidth when using Spotify; Why did it upload loadfull of data when it's primary function was to stream DOWN music. It is not P2P after all. 

To test this I went home, cleared most of my services which requires an Internet Connection and launched Spotify. I made sure all the options which could "call home" in preferences were turned off, like Facebook and publishing top artist and tracks.

Then I tested to see if anything on my computer used bandwidth without Spotify running and there were minimum data in/out:

Just a few keep alive pings were done, here are a few screens which shows a graph of upload / download. Tested it for about 5 minutes and in that time, not a single spike of upload more than 5KB/sec was made: Here are some screens, note that each length of the graph is estimated 2 minutes:

Image 1

Image 2

Image 3

Image 4

As you can see, no usage of bandwidth. Now it is time to Launch spotify and check resmon for activity + check network traffic to monitor the hidden traffic usage by Spotify:

Launched Spotiy As you can see, Spotify has now launched, there was a small spike in download, which was to be expected, note that the song is on pause (resumed from last state I guess).  

Waiting As you now see, Spotify is not using any Download or Upload, which is the way it should be since it is paused.