Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Cannot convert from Student to Premium

Solved!

Cannot convert from Student to Premium

Summary: If you are both no longer a student AND your credit card is no longer valid, you are unable to cleanly switch over to full Premium membership from a Student membership without cancelling your subscription entirely and then restarting it. This isn't very good UX.

Suggested Fix: There should be a "Actually, I'm no longer a student" button in the Spotify Student payment details change workflow so that you can still change your payment details (and subscription type) once you graduate without having to cancel your subscription.

Unrelated Bug: As I was typing this out, it says "Autosaved at 9:32PM". I'm in Kirkland, Washington, and it's only 1:32PM here.

Full explanation of original bug:
Hi there.

I was a student at UC San Diego. I'm no longer a student there and am attempting to change my subscription from 'Student' to a full subscription for $10. The problem is that my card has changed details and the workflow to update my payment details requires re-verifying that I am a student before it will save the new payment details. There appears to be no option to elect to convert to Premium from Student.

I can most likely cancel my membership and then immediately restart it, but I just thought I should let you guys know that there's no 'clean' way to switch to full Premium if you are no longer a student and have expired credit card details.

Accepted Solutions
Marked as solution

Hey @tgrimes92@Ronnocerman@kenna_bryan@JD4540

If you are no longer a student and when updating your payment details it asks you to re-verify your student details, you can resolve this issue by canceling your current subscription. Once canceled, you can now update or change your payment details.

Hope this helps!

Thanks,

marlonespi

If this post solved your issue - Accept it as a SOLUTION.

If you like my post - Please add LIKES to it.