Announcements
The Spotify Stars Program: Celebrating Values Week!

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Cards not being accepted

Cards not being accepted

I recently lost my debit and credit cards, so when the next month's payment was due to be taken, I got an email from Spotify saying they hadn't been able to take the payment, which is to be expected as both cards were cancelled. 

I logged on and tried to update my payment details, but it gave me the error message "Oops, seems your card or payment provider is having a bad day. Don't worry, no money has been charged. Try again or use another payment method."

I have since tried on a number of occasions with both my credit and debit cards and the same thign has happened for both. I have a Student subscription, and I read on the UniDays website that some users were experiencing problems accessing spotify with the discount, so I tried signing up for a standard subscription, but still both my cards gave the same error (this was to see if the problem was with my card or the student discount, but I had no intention of keeping the full price subscription - the only reason I had a subscription in the first place was because of the 50% discount)

I phoned the bank and they said no payments have been declined on either card, so it must be an issue at the other end. The only option I have left is to use PayPal, which would be fine except that is not an option when signing up for a Student subscription, so now I am at a bit of a loss!

I would really appreciate any help with this - I have never had any problems with Spotify in the past, and have really loved using it, so I would hate for that to change.

7 Replies

@ruthbwalton114

Check your profile to see when your premium subscription is ending.

Since you currently have an active subscription, you need to cancel your premium in your last month and revert back to 'Spotify Free' before applying for the student discount again.