Step 1

NEXT STEP

Changing my Spotify Login Email

Changing my Spotify Login Email

Plan

Premium

Country - US

Device

(iPhone 8, Samsung Galaxy 9, Macbook Pro late 2016)

Operating System

(iOS 10, Android Oreo, Windows 10,etc.)

My Question or Issue

I'm having trouble disconnecting my Spotify from Facebook. I would like to do so, but I can't change the email address of my Spotify account.

My original Facebook account was setup under my old University email. I graduated 10 years ago and the email address has been inactive ever since. Unfortunately, even though I've updated my login email in Facebook, the email Spotify has on file is still for the inactive University account and the system won't allow me to change it. Furthermore, I can't remember the password to login to said account, and can't change it because I have no valid email to send the reset link to.

All of the FAQs suggest that I should be able to either change my email through Facebook, or to change it in the Spotify Account settings. Neither solution is working. Please advise. 

9 Replies

Hello @zjplunkett88

Thank you for reaching out here in the Community!

If you have created your Spotify account through Facebook, you won't be able to change the email address in your Spotify account on your own. You can reach to Customer Support. Make sure to follow the steps from this Support article under the I no longer have access to the email address on my account part. 

While choosing to contact Customer Support, keep in mind that they're unfortunately experiencing significant delays due to the Coronavirus disease outbreak. 

You might get an automatic response, so make sure to reply to it and someone from the Customer Support team will contact you back as soon as possible.

You can do that via  Twitter or Facebook as well. They'll be happy to provide you with further support. 

Also, more details on how to disconnect your Facebook account can be found here

I hope that helps!