Announcements
The Spotify Stars Program: Celebrating Values Week!

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Singles included in albums are different?

Solved!

Singles included in albums are different?

Hey all, 

I am an artist on Spotify and planning to release something like an album soon. I want to release a few songs from the album separately as singles, but still included in the album. How do I go about that?

I asked my aggregator and their answer was that I had to release the song first as a single, then release it again in the album. However, this will mean that the ISRC will be different, causing it to be shown as 2 different songs? I know this is achievable as seen in artists like Kygo where Spotify recognises they are tha same songs and syncs the play count. So that on their "Top Tracks" section, the song does not appear twice, and the streams can either come from the album or the single. 

I know there has been a similar enquiry, but what wasn't answered was the steps I have to take to make sure Spotify recognises it. Do I have to contact Spotify after the album release and request the songs to be synced? Or do I have to organise this with my aggregator. 

Thank you. 

Accepted Solutions
Marked as solution

Hey @at8official,

This is not something Spotify can just set up on request. Track linking might not be possible if you don't use the same ISRC for the song.

As you've already mentioned, Track linking is specifically designed to provide a better user experience by removing duplicate tracks from the charts section, popular tracks section, and avoiding gaps in playlists due to territorial availability. Tracks that are linked will subsequently share a play count.