Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Spotify won't let me update my country?

Solved!

Spotify won't let me update my country?

I recently moved from the US to the Czech Republic a few weeks ago. However, I went to my account settings today to update my new location (I am currently *in* the Czech Republic) and the drop down box will not let me choose any other option besides the United States. Due to this, I am unable to log into Spotify.

If it helps, I am running the app on my Windows computer, and attempted to change the settings in browser. I am not a Spotify Premium member, I use the service for free.

Accepted Solutions
Marked as solution

Hi there- I ran into this issue too. And there's wrong advice out there. Literally all you have to do (to not have to deal with creating a new account and redoing all playlists and your play history) is to update your location after you've been to a different country for 14+ days.

I've been traveling for 4+ months now to different countries and have been using my free account. There's definitely a bug because it's always a pain to update it and it never gives you the correct location.

SOLUTION- the only way I've gotten it to update my location is by using Samsung's mobile browser (which I never use). I also tried Safari on my MacBook (which I also rarely use) but that didn't work. Try clearing your cashe perhaps? Or use some browser that you never use. Good luck! I hope they fix it soon- but since we're free users I doubt they will 🙂

View solution in original post

6 Replies

Hey there,

Thanks for reaching out to the community!

Please check this help guide on "Country Settings" to get a better understanding on limitations of using a free subscription in a different country.

As written under "Spotify Free" and because you've mantioned moving a few weeks ago i'd say you've reached a use limit for you free account in another country.