Announcements

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

[Android] [Playlists] Your Daily Drive Mix Needs Clarification

[Android] [Playlists] Your Daily Drive Mix Needs Clarification

There is a relatively new auto generated playlist called “Your Daily Drive Mix” at least for android mobile and android auto. It’s not a radio/station in the sense that there are no thumbs up or down. Initially I thought that it was creating a playlist from songs saved in my library because most of the tracks have a check mark indicating that they are saved tracks. However, it seemed to be playing one genre (or closely related genres), even on the next day. So how is Spotify determining which track to use?

After some more testing and track skipping, I did come across songs that were not saved to my library. I started playing one of the regular daily mixes and then I switched to the Daily Drive Mix and Spotify indicated that it was playing, but the music didn’t change from what was playing in that regular Daily Mix. However, I did see that the news segments were in there. I wondered if the Daily Drive Mix is based on the Daily Mixes. So I tried another Daily Mix, switched back to the Daily Drive Mix and this time Spotify said it was paused. The Daily Drive Mix was paused, but the regular Daily Mix was still playing. I couldn't get the Daily Drive Mix to change.

At some point I did git the Daily Drive Mix to change again. But I’m not sure how. Was it something I did? Did enough time elapse to allow the change? Is the Daily Drive Mix based on the regular Daily Mixes or could it be based on any playlist I listened to recently? Or is it not based on any playlist?

Basically, does anyone know how this Daily Drive Mix works? My biggest issue with Spotify is the lack of transparency of their features. How do users know how to utilize a feature if we have no idea how it works?

4 Replies

Hey @user-removed, welcome to the Community.

Hope you are doing great!