Announcements
The Spotify Stars Program: Celebrating Values Week!

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Data Usage on my Samsung Galaxy S4

Data Usage on my Samsung Galaxy S4

I have been paying for and using Spotify now for a few months on my Samsung Galaxy S4. I know that as it is a streaming service that it will use up a large amount of data usage for each month of my phone plan. In previous months I can say that it has used up around 3/4 of my 1 Mbyte plan. Last Friday my phone plan data restarted so I decided to listen to Spotify on the way home on the train. When I got home I got a message from my telephone company that I had used over 50% of my data usage for the month. I was thinking that this was impossible and that they were incorrect. When I looked at the Data Usage area under the Android Settings I found that the phone had recorded data usage for Spotify of 680 Mbytes. My train journey was only 20 - 30 minuts and Spotify had already used up this amount of data. How can this be? Can someone please shed some light on what may have happened here? If I don't get this resolved I will be forced to cancel my subscription to Spotify or just use it offline. This will be a shame as I think it is a good service. Just to note that I have not downloaded any of my playlists during this time.

Andy Bell
10 Replies

Let's do some quick calculations. Assuming you have set spotify to stream in extreme quality, that's 320kb/s or approximately 40KB/s.

So 30 mins x 60 x 40KB/s = 72,000 KB = 72 MB which is out from what you're reporting by a factor of 10 which is odd, Some of the difference could be accounted for by scrobbling to last.fm and facebook as well as buffering music in the cache but not that much. The other thing is that, packets would have been resent if the connection wasn't very good, I guess.