Announcements

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Pausing playback every time phone "sleeps" AND not playing full playlist

Solved!

Pausing playback every time phone "sleeps" AND not playing full playlist

Hi!  I'm pretty new to spotify so forgive me if this has been covered somewhere but I can't find anything on these 2 problems (using the free app):

1. My phone goes into "sleep" mode after no activity on the screen for a while (android).  Whenever this happens, which is about every 2-3 songs, the playback on spotify pauses and I have to manually trigger it to start playing again.  Is there some way to get it to continue to play even when the screen goes dark on my phone?

2. I have 4 hours 15 min of music on my playlist, yet shuffle play continues to play the same handful of tracks over and over (maybe 15-20 songs) while it has yet to ever play some of them.  Each time I use it, I might get to hear 2 new (ie: not yet played) tracks in a 45 min time period.  Is there something in the settings?  Or is this improved with the premium version?

Thanks a lot in advance for any tips!

Audrey

Accepted Solutions
Marked as solution

Oh yes!

Try disabling JD and see if it now works 😉

I used to use it but then realised I'm dumbing down my smartphone... and these days a phone can generally last a day on a charge so I removed it.

Please use the search feature before posting a problem/bug/idea.
What's a Spotify Rock Star, and how do I become one?
     Using Spotify Since March 10th 2009
     Twitter: @mechanimal82

Android Troubleshooting:
[COMPLETE GUIDE] How to fix most Android issues
Spotify Android Version History

View solution in original post

9 Replies

Ok, question 1... I suspect you have either an app or setting enabled to disable mobile data when the screen is off. Check your Power settings and see if this is the case.