Announcements

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Scrobbling / Last.fm support using Chromecast Audio

Solved!

Scrobbling / Last.fm support using Chromecast Audio

I would love to get a Chromecast Audio, but I really enjoy tracking my songs via Last.fm. Will the songs you listen to be scrobbled (i.e. submitted to last.fm) when you are streaming or casting via the Chromecast Audio? And if not, are there any workarounds to achieve this? 

I have searched online, but so far I haven't been able to find an answer. 

EDIT (14 Aug 2017): There seems to be a solution, discussed here: https://community.spotify.com/t5/Android/Scrobbling-Last-fm-support-using-Chromecast-Audio/m-p/18291...

70 Replies

I'm no software engineer but shouldn't the scrobbles be coming from Spotify servers?

The user has authenticated onto the service via mobile app/chromecast, therefore the option could come under that users settings on the server.

I'm also an iPhone user so no workaround for me.

To anyone still looking for a solution, there is a project open on Github that solves this issue: https://github.com/erik/lastcast

You can run it on your laptop when you are streaming, or run it on a server. I set up the app on my raspberry pi so it is always running and whenever there are songs streaming on a Chromecast, scrobbles them to Last.FM. A much better solution than most of the workarounds posted o this thread.

Does anyone know if Deezer supports something like spotify connect? I.e.: remote controlling one device via another? I know that chromecasting essentially does this, but only allows controlling a chromecast device.

Last.fm submission can be done in various ways. I think Spotify does it on the client side, i.e.: your local app submits your scrobbles to last.fm, much like you used to have a Foobar2000 last.fm plugin. 

The (better?) alternative would be to do it server side like you describe, the way that rdio used to do it and Deezer currently does.