Announcements
The Spotify Stars Program: Celebrating Values Week!

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Spotify on Android 8 & 2014 BMW F30 not displaying song metadata

Spotify on Android 8 & 2014 BMW F30 not displaying song metadata

Plan

Premium

Device

OnePlus 5T with Android 8

Car

2014 BMW F30 (ConnectedDrive) with latest software 

My Question or Issue

I've been using this setup for a few months now, and it was working perfectly until a couple of weeks ago when I updated the Spotify app on my phone. Now, it's no longer showing track name, artist, or any other info whatsoever, and it's pretty annoying. For example, if a play a song through the Youtube App, the video name is displayed correctly. 

Is there anything i can do to fix this? Are there any other users here that encountered this problem?

Thanks

Dan

13 Replies

Hey @ddan7! Welcome to the Spotify Community. ^^

I'm sorry to hear that your BMW Connected Drive app is acting up.

Please be aware that this issue is already under investigation. Be sure to check this ongoing issues thread to stay updated on this. 

Have a nice day!

Peace

Yeah, so , as of today, besides the initial problem of track metadata not being displayed, now i can't even change the songs by using the car controls. Basically, what was working perfectly a month ago no longer works. Great job, spotify, great job... Instead of fixing stuff like this, you guys keep changing the UI (and making it worse than it was, obviously).

Same here. Been waiting for a couple of months already. I'm getting so annoyed i consider switching apps. Why change something that works well.

I have found a solution: I uninstalled the latest version of the app and installed an older version that I downloaded here. I downloaded a version that was released around december 2018, since I knew that version would work with my car. Now, when I update all my android apps I make sure that I don't update Spotify.