Announcements

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

"Clacking" Unknown unwanted sounds on soft solo piano songs. Multiple platforms, multiple artists.

Solved!

"Clacking" Unknown unwanted sounds on soft solo piano songs. Multiple platforms, multiple artists.

Plan

Free/Premium

Country

USA

Device

Samsung S7+ Tablet, S21 phone, Bose surround speakers, Toyota Prius speakers, Onkyo receiver, Pioneer speakers (from the 1980's), Sennheizer headphones

Operating System. Windows 10, Android 10-12

My Question or Issue

I hear a mysterious "clacking"  on numerous quiet songs, on multiple platform equipment, multiple songs, multiple artists.  See:  Angus MacRae "Mirror Image".  Is this piano noise on the original recording such as pedal noise, damper noise or noise from key action?  Is it some artifact that arises in the recording process?  Is it a problem in data transmission?  My equipment?

Help!  I find this soooo bothersome.  Apologies if this has been addressed elsewhere, I am new to Spotify, trying to perhaps shift from Pandora.  I do not hear this problem there...

John

Accepted Solutions
Marked as solution

Hey John and all you other lovely piano music listeners!

I was actually trying to answer an entirely unrelated question for myself, came upon this thread accidentally and thought I would answer it for you as a piano composer and recording artist myself.

What you're hearing is a very specific recording and sound-style that you'll hear on most highly-popular piano tracks on Spotify (not as popular on Pandora, interestingly enough!). It is often called "felted piano", and involves dampening the strings with felt or some other cloth or mechanism, playing very softly, and recording with the microphones very close to the strings and the action. By its nature, it includes a lot of the mechanical sounds of the piano: the action, the damper (foot pedal) system, and even the sound of the performer shifting.