Album purchase question

Album purchase question

Roxymusic100
Casual Listener

Hi, I'm a newbie. Could you please let me know how much it costs to purchase and download an album. Thanks very much.

9 Replies

Liam
Community Legend

@Roxymusic100 wrote:

Hi, I'm a newbie. Could you please let me know how much it costs to purchase and download an album. Thanks very much.

Hi, it depends on the amount of songs in it.

However, Spotify are phasing out downloads and you can no longer purchase new downloads.

As such, you cannot purchase songs/albums to download anymore - you can only stream them.

Roxymusic100
Casual Listener

Thanks very much. Does that mean it is free to download albums? sorry to be dull but as I say I'm new to Spotify.

Liam
Community Legend

@Roxymusic100 wrote:

Thanks very much. Does that mean it is free to download albums? sorry to be dull but as I say I'm new to Spotify.

You cannot download albums and/or tracks.

You can only stream them - you do not own them, and they are not located on your computer, but downloaded and played from the Spotify servers. If you have a paid subscription then you can save them for offline playing, and listen to an unlimited amount of tracks an unlimited amount of times.

Roxymusic100
Casual Listener

Thanks very much LiamW for your help - much appreciated.

Liam
Community Legend
Your welcome 🙂

Please consider accepting a solution!

colin99
Casual Listener

This is a disaster.  No legal music downloads. 

So having found a track I want, I can't download it to listen in the car or similar?  Go to another site and risk getting the wrong version (happens a lot, that).  And I certainly don't want that horrible great iTunes heap on my PCs.

I'm utterly cheesed off that Spotify have killed this off.  I might as well cancel the Spotify subscription.

Words fail me, really Spotify have shot themselves in the foot here.  Madness.

Colin

Liam
Community Legend

@colin99 wrote: