Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Why is Spotify not available in Iran?

Why is Spotify not available in Iran?

Hi. I am an Iranian university student. Pirating is not illegal in Iran since there is no international copyright laws whatsoever at work here. However, I try my best not to pirate stuff since I understand there are efforts being put into these stuff. That's why I use Ubuntu and free and open source software, buy original games from the PSN, and generally pay for things that I could and use free alternatives for the rest. That's why I started using Spotify a few weeks ago. Well, streaming music for free is a far cry from buying songs, but at least it was legal. You know, I am a student and does not earn much, I cannot afford buying all my favorite songs from iTunes or Amazon or get a premium Spotify account. One day, I will do that, but right now I cannot. So, Spotify was my best choice, because I felt good that I was not pirating songs.

Yet I cannot log into my Spotify anymore because I am logging in from Iran. Why? People always talk about freedom and stuff but when it comes to acting what they preach, you cannot help but notice the discriminations. What? You want me to continue pirating songs? Okay, fine by me, pirating is completely legal in Iran, and believe me, it will be a lot cheaper for me as I only have to download songs once. You have problems with the Iranian government? What? You think preventing an Iranian student from listening to music legally can damage the Iranian government? I am not in favor of my government but if you are not letting a poor student listen to his favorite songs, you are not much better either yourselves.

9 Replies

Hi @iamerkin!

Spotify wants to be with everyone, but sometimes it’s not possible right away. Hopefully they’ll be with you soon!

MaximSpotify Star
Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution".
If you appreciate my answer, maybe give me a Like.
Note: I'm not a Spotify employee.

Why not?