[Mobile] Option: No images for faster speed / save data

Hi,

I'm a spotify user for years now.

I use the app everyday and created 1000 playlists. Really.

But now, the app is constantly slow and crashing. Why? Because Spotify changed a rule with its black version: before on playlist in your mobile app, there was no image of the playlist. Now it tries to load tons of images which slow the app a lot!

You could make the app so much faster with a simple setting option: use spotify without images!

I use an iPhone 4S and this is a big issue for me and I'm sure also for thousand of users.

As a Product Manager myself, I did the same in our app and we are now engaging more people in countries with slow brandwitch & with people with old devices.

It is a really simple solution and a pretty fast one to implement!

I'm sure if an Analytic manager at Spotify really check the stats of users with old phones that have a lot of playlists or users in countries with low brandwitch, he will see that the app has a lower use and that it decreased just after the black version.

Keep up the good work and continue to improve!

Best,

Sylvain Chaussard

spotify before.png
Spotify after.png

Update: This idea has been reposted here.

Updated: 2016-07-23

Hello!

Your idea has been submitted a while ago but unfortunately hasn't gathered enough kudos (50 per year). In order to keep an overview of the active & recent ideas in this forum, we will close this idea for now. However this does not mean that your idea has been declined by Spotify.

If you still feel strongly about your request, we encourage you to post your idea in a little different form again! Maybe now is the right time to receive the support of our community for your suggestion! 😉

Do you have any further questions on how the idea exchange is managed? Just click here!

Comments
Rock Star 28
Rock Star 28
Status changed to: New Idea

Updated: 2015-07-24