[Playlists] Owner controls Collaborative Playlists

The current collaboration playlist allows anyone to delete the whole list of songs, or secretly delete individual songs one by one. Which makes the collaboration feature pretty useless.

 

To prevent trolls from destroying a playlist, my suggestion is to add special privileges to the owner of the collaboration playlist. So anyone can SUGGEST songs to add or delete, in the playlist. It then pops up a yes/or no option to the owner of the playlist. 

 

Edit: This idea has been reposted here.

Updated on 2018-06-15

Hello!

Your idea has been submitted a while ago but unfortunately hasn't gathered enough kudos (100 per year). In order to keep an overview of the active & recent ideas in this forum, we will close this idea for now. However this does not mean that your idea has been declined by Spotify.

If you still feel strongly about your request, we encourage you to post your idea in a little different form again! Maybe now is the right time to receive the support of our community for your suggestion! ;)

Do you have any further questions on how the idea exchange is managed? Just click here!

 

Related Ideas

Comments
Saalen
Newbie
This would be awesome. Right now I have to manage 4 playlist to get it to work as I want. Me and a friend got a collaborative playlist to get out what we want from it we need one collaborative, one private, one for the removed tracks and one for suggesting tracks. It would be so much better to just be able to set permissions och who can remove and add tracks and the rest can just suggest the changes.
Erikbs
Casual Listener

YES!

l0kas
Newbie

a chatroom in the playlist would also be very cool

Nadegeb72
Newbie

I think that maybe a clever way to START with would be the functionality of creative either PUBLIC or PRIVATE collaborative playlists. That should be a very easy change in the database (add field true/false). And therefore only the creator can invite subscribers from a private collaborative playlist.

 

For example, I have three friends who are just as crazy and knowledgeable about all kinds of music and I have a playlist with them where each adds tracks once in a while to share it instantly with us three. Much more practical for us than to keep sharing via Spotify/Facebook messaging. However we live in constant fear that some stranger will subscribe and delete it all :)

hjotube
Newbie

I'd really like to have this feature.

I made a playlist which got around 20 follower, but I forgot it on Collaborative and some moron deleted it all.

The list is pretty much ruined now.

 

The crew should really do this!

Rocio
Spotify Legend
Status changed to: Good idea, vote for it
 
Batch
Regular

Definitely agree. I have had my Ultimate Driving Tunes playlist virtually halved since I built it and only recently noticed the number of tracks dwindling. I have had to remove the Collaborative optionat on that and all the other playlists I have made so far.

 

Please do this ASAP. It would be a big help, then can reenable it and I can then approve or disapprove new songs as well as not lose any tracks again! 

 

I'm now in the process re-adding them again!! Grr! Hate the playlist trolls out there.

detmer14
Gig Goer

Great idea. This would go well with the ability to "transfer" ownership of any playlist or at least collaborative playlists to another user. Spotify is becoming a great tool for groups of people. This feature would definitely make it even more useful.

timov
Newbie

I really, really wish something like this. Would become EXTREMERLY handy!

Hiplox
Newbie

Making sure that one person can't just delete a track that others might love is a must if Spotify wants to make the shared playlists more reliable. Spotify should at least give you a notification that a track has been deleted, I think this is even more important than informing us that a track has been added.

 

As an alternative on admin roles they could also simply implement that people can't delete tracks from the shared playlist: if one would delete a track from the shared playlist, it would only be deleted on his "side", without influencing the list for all other users. 

 

I believe this works the same if you subscribe to someone's playlist. You can delete a track you don't like without screwing over the owner of the playlist.