Announcements

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Cannot report incorrect artist for album as I am not an artist

Solved!

Cannot report incorrect artist for album as I am not an artist

Plan

Premium

Country

UK

 

Device

Multiple, Webplayer, Android and Windows desktop

Operating System

Android 10,11 and Windows 10.

 

My Question or Issue

I cannot find any way to report issues as a user with an album being associated with the wrong artist.

 

I have tried the following (as well as reinstalling, clearing caches etc.):

 

  1. I have contacted Spotify support at the email address and they refered me to Report content on Spotify but the "Broken or incorrect content" section refers back to  the support email.
  2. Upon highlighting that to support at spotify the next reference was to https://artists.spotify.com/contact however I am not a manager, an artist or a label so I cannot use this form.
  3. The Content Reporting page does not have a broken or incorrect content section so there is no way to report here either.
  4. This page on "Help - Music mixed up with another artist" has links that take me to "Claim an artist profile" and as I am not an artist I cannot claim the profile nor do I want to! The other link take me to the artists contact page already visited under 2.
  5. This community post about "Report Albums on Wrong Artist page" links back to the artists page already visited under 2.
  6. This community post regarding "PLEASE READ: Reporting Incorrect Track Info" refers to a "Line-in" page but links to a 404 page.
  7. This community post regarding "How to report a broken song or wrong song information" refers to instructions that are no longer possible as the link page just refers back to the support email which takes me back to the beginning of my seach at number 1!

Any guidance on how to sort this would be great as I want the correct artist to get their royalties and also for me and other fans I want to be able to browse albums correctly.

 

Many thanks in advance, Adam.

 

Reply

Accepted Solutions
Marked as solution

Hi @adamkimber

 

Thanks for all the info you've sent so far. 

 

In this case, we suggest that you reach out directly to our Support team via Twitter here, as they are the right folks to help you with this.

 

Keep us posted on how it goes.

EniModerator
Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution".
If you appreciate my answer, maybe give me a Like.
 
“Music acts like a magic key, to which the most tightly closed heart opens.”– Maria von Trapp

View solution in original post

10 Replies

Hey there @adamkimber

 

Thanks for reaching out about this here in the Community.

 

Just to confirm, have you already reached out to our Support team via email? If so, we recommend keeping in touch with them to report this. 

 

If you haven't, make sure to follow the steps in this article under "Broken or incorrect content". If it doesn't work, we suggest that you try again from an incognito window on a different device. 

 

If the issue persists, could you send us some screenshots of what you see on your end when you try following the steps so we can take a closer look? You can also send a link to it or attach it using the Insert Image option in the post editor. Make sure not to send any private info. 

 

We'll be on the lookout for your reply.

EniModerator
Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution".
If you appreciate my answer, maybe give me a Like.
 
“Music acts like a magic key, to which the most tightly closed heart opens.”– Maria von Trapp

Hi Eni,

 

Many thanks for your reply, I have previously reached out to support and they are not able to help unfortunately, hence my post here. 

 

They said the following:

"Last but not least, as we specialize in customer account and app issues we can't implement the changes you're referring to, but you can report that following the steps listed on this link so this can reach our specialized team."

This is the same link you also refer to. However this page does not help as the link under "If it’s not a technical issue, contact us." unfortunately takes me back to the Spotify support email which I have already contacted. Do I need to use the infringement link option? See attached image of what I get.

 

I have tried the link on Chrome, Firefox, Edge in private modes and normal and still get the same link to the email address. On my phone the link takes me to a chatbot that is not able to answer my question. See the page I link to attached also.

 

So I am still stuck on this unfortunately. Am I missing something? Many thanks for your help!

Contactuspage.jpg
Reportpage.jpg
Marked as solution

Hi @adamkimber

 

Thanks for all the info you've sent so far. 

 

In this case, we suggest that you reach out directly to our Support team via Twitter here, as they are the right folks to help you with this.

 

Keep us posted on how it goes.

EniModerator
Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution".
If you appreciate my answer, maybe give me a Like.
 
“Music acts like a magic key, to which the most tightly closed heart opens.”– Maria von Trapp

Hi Eni,

 

Thank you for the Twitter contact suggestion, I have been able to make contact and pass on the information now.

 


@Spotifycares on twitter wrote:
Hi there! Thanks for sending those to us and for the report. We’ve passed the info on to the Content folks. For anything else, we're just a tweet away.

For those also seeking to pass on incorrect artist information to Spotify go to the spotifycares twitter account, tweet the issue and they will ask for further information via Direct Message (DM). Then you can send them the items needing correction.

How can this team be contacted without Twitter, I no longer have an account?

Hey @bclark,

 

Thanks for reaching out.

 

You should also be able to report broken or incorrect content using the contact link from this page.

 

Take care,

MihailYModerator
Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution".
If you appreciate an answer, maybe give it a Like.
Are you new to the Community? Take a moment to introduce yourself!

Robin and Linda Williams lists the wrong robin Williams. I shouldn’t need twitter or a third party app to tell you that. **bleep**. Do better.

No longer works. What is the proper way to do this now?

This album is missing the "s" on the word "thing".
https://open.spotify.com/album/0YVx7GoDjjudVpkOuPwCrY?si=PkGjwn2KQgKCRN7f7lqOEA

Hey folks, 

 

Thanks for your replies here. 

 

As mentioned by @MihailY, you can learn how to report inaccurate metadata by giving a look at this article

 

You can also find more info about how to report content on Spotify by checking out this article. There, you can find other scenarios that you might consider reporting content.

 

Hope this clears things up. If you have any questions or need anything else, the Community is here for you.

AlejaRModerator
Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution".
If you appreciate an answer, maybe give it a Like.

That article doesn't help. It just points to the generic chatbot.

Suggested posts