Do artists get paid for offline listening?

Solved!

Do artists get paid for offline listening?

Trstn
Regular

I download all my music that I don't pay for (streaming) to my phone, because who wants to constantly use data.

I'm also a music producer with content on streaming services. Am I getting paid for offline listens for the millions of people who might stream things once, but then download it to their phones?

I can't find an answer to this anywhere online. I would only assume no, cause how could you track offline listens, but I hope I'm wrong. If it's a no, what are the future plans to fix this for Artists?

Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solution!

Re: Do artists get paid for offline listening?

Rock Star 24
Rock Star 24

Hey @Trstn,

I believe that artists do get paid, even when the listener is always listening to their songs in offline mode.

Spotify probably tracks how many times a song's been played, and when the app's back online, it 'uploads it to the server'.

Hope this helps!

MaximRock Star 24
Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution".
If you appreciate my answer, maybe give me a Like.
Note: I'm not a Spotify employee.
3 Replies
Solution!

Rock Star 24
Rock Star 24

Hey @Trstn,

I believe that artists do get paid, even when the listener is always listening to their songs in offline mode.

Spotify probably tracks how many times a song's been played, and when the app's back online, it 'uploads it to the server'.

Hope this helps!

MaximRock Star 24
Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution".
If you appreciate my answer, maybe give me a Like.
Note: I'm not a Spotify employee.

El0h1m
Regular

Today's mobile plans are so good ... don't need to go offline - here in the UK (giffgaff).

But yes... Spotify will upload all your stream numbers once you online again.

Highlighted

johnnormanmusic