Announcements

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Am I missing something? Spotify could be so much better!

Am I missing something? Spotify could be so much better!

Hi folks,

New Spotify user here. Initially when my friend first took out his tablet with Spotify and we were all passing it around I was really impressed, however now I've got an account myself I've started to notice a lot of really surprising shortcomings and after perusing these forums it looks like that has been the case for years... in fact in a few cases it sounds like Spotify has actually taken away functionality from us!

Anyway, below are a list of my gripes with the software, if there are ways to get around them that I should don't know please let me know, as I said I'm still fairly new to this.

1. Dragging Albums & Artists in to Playlists - Click 'Albums' under 'Your Music' and drag one of them over a playlist, you'll notice initially the icon is a cross to suggest you can't do that... a few seconds later that will change to a + to say OK that's fine. Let go to drop the album in there are there and the whole application freezes while it adds a couple of songs to a playlist... Then you find that it hasn't added the songs from that album that you have added to your collection but the ENTIRE album... this is wrong in my opnion, only the ticked songs should be added. Worse still if you try and do the same with an 'Artist' in your library it will just freeze up and do nothing at all.
  2. Filtering Playlists - I've seen elsewhere on the forums that used to be possible... and that Spotify removed it about 2 years ago and have just never put it back... how is that acceptable? You can do it on the Android app but not the Desktop one?!