Premium

Country

Germany (currently)

Device

DELL Latitude E6230

Operating System

Fedora 28 (Linux)

My Question or Issue

On my laptop with Fedora 28, the "add source" button in Spotify does not work. (I can press it, but it won't do anything). I am aware of the other thread there is resolving this on Ubuntu ( https://community.spotify.com/t5/Desktop-Linux/Unable-to-Add-a-Directory-to-Play-Local-Files-linux/t... ), but I have tried using these commands (also replacing every "apt" with "dnf", but I am not very experienced with the command line, so I didn't know what else to change), and the files/directories don't seem to be correct. How would I resolve this problem in Fedora?

Thanks

6 Replies

Hey @Panther98, welcome to the Community!

Sorry to hear you're having trouble with this. Though we don't officially support Spotify on Linux, we'll be glad to help.

When did this start happening? Have you already tried removing the app and installing it again to see if it helps? 

Let us know if that helps.

Hi, thanks for your reply...

I had never tried adding local files sources to Spotify before, so I suppose it's just a bug that has been there since I installed Spotify. Yes, I have reinstalled the app and it did not help.

A different thread states that this is a known problem with Spotify for Linux and solves it for Ubuntu by running a few commands, but of course these commands are not applicable to Fedora. Maybe there is a version of these commands for Fedora?

Only for feedback, works normally on linux mint 18.3

I think that your problem is spotify try to open file manager, but not find a compatible one.

Try to open spotify via command line (to obtain error logs) and try to add local files again. You probably will see a error message.

Thank you, I haven't tried doing that before!

When opening Spotify via command line I get this message:

Gtk-Message: Failed to load module "pk-gtk-module"
Gtk-Message: Failed to load module "canberra-gtk-module"