Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Spotify on Mycroft Smart Speaker

Spotify on Mycroft Smart Speaker

Spotify just disabled API access for the Mycroft smart speaker.  I can no longer use it to listen to the Spotify account I pay for.

This is really frustrating.  The skill was community developed and maintained and worked fine.  Now I can't access my Spotify account via voice without having Amazon, Google or Apple spying on me.

29 Replies

Second this, I pay for a Spotify membership and should be able to access it however I want to.

Can confirm I am experiencing this as well. As advised by @SpotifyCares, I have;

- reinstalled Spotify (using snap on Ubuntu Linux 20.04)

- had a look at the Spotify "developer forum" - which doesn't address this issue at all

It appears the Spotify developer API key for Mycroft, used by the Mycroft Spotify skill, has been deliberately disabled, with no communication occurring.

Mycroft is the reason I have a paid subscription to Spotify.

Has the Spotify authentication / API infrastructure changed recently and it's just a case of updating?

Please fix this issue.  I am also a premium user and I will have to switch off of this platform if it is not fixed.  

If this is available for other assistants, why did they remove it from this important api?

Is this another anti trust move ?

It smells like an anti-competition move.  Spotify is reportedly working on thier own voice assistant, but they are also continuing to support Alexa, Cortana, Siri and Google Assistant.

They have not been willing to communicate about the issue.  If we don't hear back from them we may file an anti-trust complaint with the EU.

It stinks of using their market size to disadvantage smaller players.

I am also a paying user of Spotify Family. I cannot understand why they are doing this to us customers for no apparent reason.

+1 another premium account user affected by this change.