Announcements

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Crashing, and it's the GAP ad with the video causing it

Crashing, and it's the GAP ad with the video causing it

I'm new to Spotify (a whole 4 hours now!) and I'm already having constant crashes.

I've seen other users with complaints that the discover page makes the app crash. Mine does too, and it's reproducible. There's a GAP ad banner at the top with a video that plays. When the video ends, Spotify crashes. I've done it ten times in a row now. On a different page everything is fine for me.

I don't know how that might be affecting premium users, though. Perhaps there's failsafe code not working and it's letting through more things than just a bad ad. 

Edit to add:

It's not just the GAP ad. There's a Samsung Galaxy ad that crashes Spotify when it's done and there's others that do it too.

OSX 10.8.4

v. 0.9.1.57.ge7405149

12 Replies

Hi, and welcome to the community!

Intereting, I'm premium so I can't confirm as we don't get ads (answering your sub question as such), so I'll escalate it to the staff so they can look into it.

Have you tried a quick Clean reinstallation of Spotify?

Does the web player work OK for you? That might be a temporary solution for desktop Spotify.

Meanwhile, anyone else that has it, please post your:

1) Device

2) OS

3) Spotify version

Anthony 🙂

This post was by Taylor - I do not work for Spotify!
If this solved your issue - Mark it as a solution! If you like my post - Please add Kudos!
||  Spotify Profile - Taylor   |  Feel free to PM me - Here  ||

My OS and Spotify versions are in the edited version of my original post. It's a macbook pro. The web player works fine.

Did the reinstall. Everything was fine until that GAP ad showed up. It wasn't there until I started playing a song. Then it showed up and as soon as that video ended spotify crashed again.

I hope the staff see this soon because I *really* want to know if getting rid of that ad will stabilize Spotify for me! 🙂