Announcements
The Spotify Stars Program: Celebrating Values Week!

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Video ads way too loud

Solved!

Video ads way too loud

Listening to my music at a reasonable volume and then all of a sudden a video ad will come blaring on, seemingly at least twice as loud as my actual music volume. Loud enough to ****ing literally hurt my ears. This needs to fixed immediately. This latest update is just a mess. The lead developer and anyone who OK'd the update should be fired. The update should be rolled back until someone competent, and who also values user experience, is put in charge.
193 Replies

I guess the solution is to stop using Spotify until it gets fixed. There is no need for ads to be that freaking loud.

one of the new superloud ads is litterally a woman screaming in terror (for some new horror show).  When you have the volume super low to go to sleep and that blasts it scares the crap out of you.  I've been using free since 2011.  This has never been an issue until this year.  It's been getting progressively worse.  No I will NOT be getting premium.  My funds are too tight to, and even if they weren't, I refuse to support a company that tries to deafen their users to make a quick buck.  Fix it, and maybe I'll reconcider.  Otherwise, you are losing a customer, as I will be unistalling spotify over this.

I'm pretty amazed there's a this long thread on this and it hasn't been addressed in any way.

Ever since my Premium ran out I've had this issue. I listen to music at a pretty low volume because I have tinnitus. Add comes on and literally hurts my ears. The only way I can enjoy music is if I manually mute my computer every time an add comes on. It's absolutely not enjoyable, please fix it. 

Agred on this. It's so annoying.