Announcements
The Spotify Stars Program: Celebrating Values Week!

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

sound hiss

Solved!

sound hiss

Hi,

Today my spotify seems to play louder than the others days.

I'm a computing science engineer so not a noob in computing...I'm on maxed out macbook pro 2016 on High Sierra 10.13.4. Tried to reinstalled spotify from scratch and download latest version 1.0.77.338.g758ebd78

It's like there is a treble and bass boost on every songs ! Don't have this problem on itunes. I tried changing the mac sample rate and put it to different sample rates but didn't change anything. Some songs just sound horrible with terrific hissing ! I already tried PRAM and SMC reset as well. Same result using the internal jack headphone output or my ibasso d14 usb dac. Don't get it it's really annoying 

Accepted Solutions
Marked as solution

For whoever reading upon this I found a fix ! Installed soundflower and using soundflower 64ch as audio output. No more distorted loudness effect! 

View solution in original post

4 Replies
Marked as solution

For whoever reading upon this I found a fix ! Installed soundflower and using soundflower 64ch as audio output. No more distorted loudness effect! 

I get the hissing in linux as well, with an Argon DA2 DAC, today only in the right channel. Stopped the playback, switched cables, got the hissing in the other speaker, switched cables back, hissing gone, probably because I stopped spotify then played another song. Something is definitely not right with Spotify

I get the same thing and it's annoying.

Hey @artful_dodger59,

Thanks for reaching out on the Community 🙂