Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Can't play the current song.

Can't play the current song.

Hello. I've been using Spotify since 2013 and I'm having a problem I've never encountered before on Desktop (v 1.0.44.100) and it's driving me crazy. As the title speaks for itself, I'm getting this error every now and then since the new update. 

I've tried:

-Reinstalling the app.

-Disabling the local files section.

-Downgrading to older version.

-Disabling the hardware accelerator.

None of them worked and it's really annoying. I've been using SpotifyWeb since the error but what's the catch if I'm not able to download and listen offline. Not to mention 320 kbps. I hope we can fix this or I'm thinking of unsubscribing from premium. Thanks in advance.

7 Replies

I've seen that error pop up quite a bit, I think the cause is if your internet isn't fast enough to supply the song by a certain time.

I usually just wait a few seconds and try again and it plays the song, but you could also try reducing the quality to the next step down and see if that helps.

I have the same issue, extremely irritating. Tried to uninstall everything and delete all remaining files in the system, reinstall and the same problem persists.

I've been thinking of upgrading to premium from unlimited, but with problems like these I don't think I'll be spending more money on spotify.

With Premium you could actually just download whatever playlists you listen to often, though it depends on how you listen to music on Spotify.

How frequently does the "Can't play the current song" message pop up for you guys?  I only get it about twice a month or so, so it seems like a small problem to me.  Is it more like every day for you guys?

Unlimited isn't even offered anymore, at least for new applicants, that's really cool.