Announcements

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

PC App won't launch, can't uninstall, reinstall doesn't help

Solved!

PC App won't launch, can't uninstall, reinstall doesn't help

I've been using Spotify for nearly five years, Premium for nearly as long. I've rarely encountered problems with the PC application, but right now, I can't even launch it, and I'm ready to cancel my service if I can't solve the problem. 

Several days ago, Spotify simply stopped responding when I tried to launch it. If I check Task Manager, it shows it as running. I tried shutting it down there and rebooting. Nothing. I tried reinstallilng. Nothing. So today, I tried to uninstall, but it won't respond to that, either--even when I go in and manually shut it down through Task Manager. I merely get "Please wait until the current program is finished uninstalling or being changed." I left it alone all last night, and nothing changed. 

I am running Windows 8 on a fairly robust PC, and resources are not the issue. Nor is my account, as I'm able to use Spotify on my phone. Does anyone know what's wrong, and how to fix it? I'm very frustrated that a paid service does not appear to provide support, and like I said, won't wait long to jump to Google. The only thing stopping me, really, is the numerous playlists I've created over the years, and my kids' preference because of the same. 

Thanks in advance for any help!

Accepted Solutions
Marked as solution

Hi.

Can you try a clean installation in safe mode? Here's how:

(Do it in safe mode so you don't have to try twice)

May differ a bit (I'm on windows 10)

Uninstall Spotify, if you can't uninstall try deleting the Spotify folder and the ones mentioned.

Go to "C:\Users\%Username%\AppData\Local\Spotify\Storage" and delete everything inside the folder.

Also delete the folder "C:\Users\%Username%\AppData\Local\Spotify\Users\<random numbers-user>\"

Delete the Spotify folders in "C:\Users\%Username%\AppData\Roaming"