Operating System

Windows 10 Home - 10.0.18362 Build 18362

Spotify Version

1.1.35.458.g891674f3

Audio Output

ASUS Xonar DX audio

My Question or Issue

Playback/skipping error - 'Spotify can't play this right now'

I've been using Spotify on this PC for several months with no issues, however today I've launched it and on trying to play a song the track details appears briefly on the left hand side and then vanishes within a second.  No sound is heard at all.  If I attempt to play something from the radio it does the same thing but quickly skips through all the songs in the playlist until it reaches the end.

I am able to play music fine using my mobile (Samsung S10), and my computer picks up that it is playing there.  If I tell my phone to instead play the track on my PC it transfers back to the PC but the issue remains.

I have tried the following:

• Uninstalled - Reinstalled
  • Logged out/in
  • Rebooted PC
  • Tried different internet connections (wired/wifi/phone hotspot)
  • Deleted local cache files
  • Tried the W10 app instead of downloaded version.
  • Checked and reset app volume for Spotify.
  • Tried switching between audio outputs.
  • Disabled all sound output devices except for the primary.

Interestingly, I created a new account to test with and it works perfectly fine on the same PC with the same settings.  If I log out and back in as my main premium account the issue returns.  Log out, back in as free account and it is fine again and so on.  The issue appears to be both local and account related in some way.

No other sound issues on the PC, application audio, YouTube, webex's etc are all functioning normally.

7 Replies

Update: The one thing I didn't try worked - Run as Administrator. Not sure why my main account needs to be run using this method but a free account is fine? Possibly something related to account/file permissions on account type.

Hi there @Amenthea,

thanks for reaching out !