Announcements

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Spotify stops playing after seconds due to advertising domain requirements on premium account

Spotify stops playing after seconds due to advertising domain requirements on premium account

Hi!

Plan

Premium

Country

UK

Device

Windows 10 custom build

My Question or Issue

Every few songs, spotify just stops when I'm at work and behind a corporate firewall (of which I'm an admin). At home it's absolutely fine on the same device.

None of the main suggestions in the forum worked for me. I have to close and open spotify again for it to continue.
Our firewall is logging traffic to advertising domains even though I have a premium account. Advertising has no place in a school, which is why we block such domains. Advertising also has no place on a premium account, so this is a bug and it's really annoying!

Please fix this!

3 Replies

Hi there @BrawnyBeats

Welcome to the Community and thanks for reaching out about this. 

Could you try the following steps on your PC?:

• Check your firewall and antivirus software/apps to make sure Spotify is whitelisted or set as an exception.
  • Clear any entries containing Spotify from your host files. Follow the instructions here.
  • Uninstall any ad-blocker apps.
  • Turn off the VPN if in use. 

Also, would you mind letting us know if this is happening in the web player as well?

Let us know how it goes 🙂

EniModerator
Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution".
If you appreciate my answer, maybe give me a Like.

“Music acts like a magic key, to which the most tightly closed heart opens.”– Maria von Trapp

Hi,

Spotify is whitelisted

Hosts file doesn't contain any spotify entries

We cannot disable adblocker on our corporate network and there shouldnt' be a need for advert access on a premium account anyway. This is a matter of security too.

No VPN is installed or running