Premium

Country

United States

Device

Desktop 

Operating System

Windows 10

My Question or Issue

For the past couple of months, no new song releases have played on my Spotify app. I can listen to new releases through my browser and my phone, yet my Spotify app on my desktop will not play any new songs. I have tried uninstalling, logging out, and clearing the cache but none of these have solved the issue. All songs that were released before early September 2022 will play perfectly fine. I have been using Spotify since 2017 and this is the first time this has happened to me.

song wont play.png

Accepted Solutions
Marked as solution

After many days of research, I have finally found the cause and solution to my problem.

Upon opening the System Information application I received the error "Can't Collect Information. Cannot access the Windows Management Instrumentation software. Windows Management files may be moved or missing." (See attachment) I then navigated to system32\wbem\repository and found a "Corrupted.rec" file which was created during a Windows update back in October.

Location of corrupted Windows file, the cause of my issue.Location of corrupted Windows file, the cause of my issue.

Realizing my Windows repository was corrupted, I opened command prompt as Administrator and ran the following command: "winmgmt /resetrepository"

Command Prompt lines that solved my issue.Command Prompt lines that solved my issue.

After doing so, all program features I have been having over the last couple of months were instantly fixed. This is the reason my Spotify was not working properly as well as many other applications. Thank you for your help!

Spotify finally works after nearly 2 months!Spotify finally works after nearly 2 months!

View solution in original post

3 Replies

Hey @saltinnee,

Thank you for reaching out here in the Community. It sounds like you've tried a couple of things already, but let's try some more troubleshooting.