Announcements
The Spotify Stars Program: Celebrating Values Week!

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

windows media player

windows media player

hi i am new to spotify my question is can i add the music from spotify to my computers windows media player so i ca burn the songs to a cd

35 Replies

That is not possible with Spotify, no.  Spotify is a streaming service only.  In order to do what you are asking about, you would need to purchase the songs through iTunes, Amazon.com, or other online music store.

Just to add to the above, there is also a Download service within Spotify itself, which will allow you to export music to Windows Media Player,etc. but this is currently only available in Europe.
Check out our Twitter for the latest updates on any service issues: @Spotifystatus

Problem solved? Click 'Accept as solution' to make it easier to find for others!

New to the Community? Check out our Community newbie tips

Hi, you can't just add music from spotify to windows media player, then you have to buy the song... hope it help you Smiley Happy

as you download songs to your computer from spotify don't they also get stored on your comp ? like for instance when going to history or recent places ?

They do, but not in a format that is useful to any other application.  The Spotify cache is encrypted in such a way as to make it impossible to copy the songs in the way that you are thinking.

I added songs to a playlist that Spotify automatically had when I started using it was called "Windows Media Player". I wondered if the playlist I have on Spotify will show up on my Windows Media Player, but it didn't. So why did they add it, when it's not able to show on Windows Media Player?