Announcements

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

[BOSE] Lifestyle 535 SoundTouch: Music stops playing randomly

[BOSE] Lifestyle 535 SoundTouch: Music stops playing randomly

I have a Bose LifeStyle 535 Series II with the SoundTouch Wireless Adapter. All the latest firmwares are installed as of today (January 18th 2015). I have a premium subscription. I use Spotify on various devices such as iPad Air 2, iPhone 5, Mac (10.10 Yosemite) and Windows (7) computers. I always make sure to use the latest versions of iOS and Spotify. I've tried the Spotify Beta versions too.

This makes Spotify work with my device, pops right up in the Spotify Connect list and I can start playing from whichever device I am using at the moment.

Once in a while, the playback just cuts off in the middle of listening to a track. I can see that the Spotify client still shows the track as playing, but no audio is heard. If I skip to the next track I still hear nothing. If I switch playback to the device I'm using

Whenever this happens and I check the Spotify Connect list and my Bose unit shows as "Connecting...". Sometimes playback resumes while checking this list, sometimes it doesn't. The client still is in playback mode, but the music isn't heard on any device. The only sure way of resuming playback is rebooting the LifeStyle unit. Then it works until next time the problem appears, which seems to be completely random. I have had successful sessions of several hours, but most of the time it's just a song or two that works. 

Sometimes the client gets messed up and out of sync completely. Showing the wrong song, wrong position in the track or indicating playback but no positional data at all...

This never happens when I'm streaming from iTunes, network shares or even using compatible competitors such as Deezer.

4 Replies