Announcements

[Discover] Emotes and user reactions 🤠

Hi, my name’s Miyaz Ehsan and I used to be a product manager. I noticed a deeper level to song reaction options could help users track and express their relationships with songs & artists in new ways, whilst creating interesting data value.

Emotes as quick ‘react’ options could encourage users to respond with how a song made them feel aside from just ‘a like’ or ‘add to playlist’. A set of emotes - e.g. happiness, sadness, determination etc - offer new and easy ways for users to engage with playlist creation by making it easy to directly relate their emotional connections to songs. Users could find it valuable and powerful to know what songs make them feel certain emotions - this process can be easier and more engaging than standard playlist creation. This function could also be used for other purposes, perhaps as a ‘quick tag’. It’s interesting to think if users would enjoy choosing their own handful of ‘tags’/‘emotes’. I think it would be interesting to see the competitive impact of an exclusive product that makes it easy for users to directly relate their emotional connections to each song and use it for their future benefit. 

It’s also possible that better understanding the user can help artists and, most definitely, Spotify discovery features. Beyond emotes and tags, user responses to feedback questions tailored by artists for their songs could offer data value. For example, “____ wants to ask you: should I do more collaborations with the featuring artist on this song?(Y/N)” - how much would an artist value feedback from their fans through a channel that turns feedback into data insights? A user experience like this seems relevantly placed after a user shows vested interest into a song (after a ‘like’, an ‘add to playlist’).