Sco-Mule brings their A-Game to The Fox in Oakland, CA (a concert review)

Highlighted

Sco-Mule brings their A-Game to The Fox in Oakland, CA (a concert review)

johndowden
Regular

Ok, I've decided to step a little further out of my protective shell and start writing concert reviews for others to see. I started an internal blog at work where I've been sharing my concert experiences for the past two years. I've decided to dive a little deeper into the pool and share these thoughts more publicy. Here we go...

Last Friday, my son (Charlie) and I returned to The Fox Theater in Oakland to see Gov’t Mule. I’m a huge Gov’t Mule fan, and my son, who plays guitar and bass, shares my addiction. Warren Haynes (lead guitarist and vocalist) is one of my musical heroes. 

JohnWarren.png

I’ve seen Gov’t Mule live now about 15 times (including a 4-night concert in Jamaica). No two shows are ever the same, and you never know what they’ll play or who might join them on stage. (Guests I’ve seen them play with include Grace Potter, Davy Knowles, Hook Herrera, Ron Holloway, Anders Osbourne, Robbie Krieger, Dave Schools, Phil Lesh, Bob Weir, and many more.

But this short winter tour was going to be a little different. Touted as the Sco-Mule tour, this time Gov’t Mule was joined by legendary jazz guitarist John Scofield. A brilliant improvisational jazz guitarist who has worked with Miles Davis and Pat Metheny, Scofield is well versed in jazz fusion, funk, blues, soul, and rock. What better partnership for Mule’s southern blues-rock jamming style.

However, this partnership/tour was a long-time coming. Way back in 1999 (yeah I said way back), John Scofield played a few shows with the original Gov’t Mule lineup. These recordings were supposed to be released, but the death of original bassist Allen Woody put that project on the back burner, only to be forgotten for over a decade. Last month, Gov’t Mule released these recordings in the 2-disc collection titled “Sco-Mule”. Listen here: