Announcements
The Spotify Stars Program: Celebrating Values Week!

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Can't find a Spotify user

Solved!

Can't find a Spotify user

I am brand new to Spotify. I cannot find a certain Spotify user.  I am logging in using the FB login. I don't know if I should use the Spotify login. I am not friends with this person on FB. I do not have a "Follow" button just a "People" button. When I have tried to Search for this person, I have even tried the Spotify:user:username. Doesn't come up. I know they are here, only reason why I have joined.

Accepted Solutions
Marked as solution

@owentje wrote:

I have a similar issue. I've linked my account to Facebook, but I can't find my friend. My friend is also not able to find me.

I know both of our usernames, but entering it in each others account doesn't give any result.

My username is: owentje

her username is: nishialam

What am I doing wrong here?

Hey! Welcome to the community 🙂 

I can access both of those profiles by searching for:

spotify:user:owentje

and

spotify:user:nishialam

This will only work in the desktop application however. 

Peter

Peter
Spotify Community Mentor and Troubleshooter

Spotify Last.FM Twitter LinkedIn Meet Peter Rock Star Jam 2014

If this post was helpful, please add kudos below!

View solution in original post

Marked as solution

it worked on mobile too (ios 9.3) You may wan't to check on android too.

Marked as solution

All you need to do is write in the profile name as it is and then double tap the space bar. For some reason this works. (Mobile and tablets only)

44 Replies

How you find people is different depending on whether the person you are trying to find created their account using Facebook or if they have a dedicated Spotify username and password. 

If they created their account and have a dedicated username and password, then you are using the correct search to find them.