Help Wizard

Step 1


Connect does not work with Bang&Olufsen Beoplay A9 any more

As already notified,  the update of the IOS app Spotify Connect does not work with Bang & Olufsen Beosound Essence any more. I have two of them, neither is working. Beosound Essence is selectable in App but does not connect.


Same Problem with my Beoplay A9 Speaker. 


Dlna and airplay does work, so it can’t be a network issue. 


This is a totally inacceptable situation. Waiting is not an option - neither for B&O nor for Spotify. Such a careless software testing is not professional. 


After the BeoSound5 desaster the next issue with Spotify and Bang & Olufsen. Sooner or later we shou re-think our content strategy and go old school with offline content again. 


 So sad. 


Thanks for the info, guys!


There will be no updates upcoming for the A9 MK1, which means that we've removed server support for the A9 MK1. If you have the version A9 MK2, you'll be able to use it.


Let us know if you have more doubts. 


Since a couple of days Spotify Connect does not work with my Beoplay A9. The speaker is online, I can stream via AirPlay and the player is listed as possible Spotify Connect source in the device menu but when I select it, the “connecting” message appears for a short while and then returns. I have restarted both speaker and app. 


Any ideas?


Hello Spotify


I bought an Bang and Olufsen Beoplay M5. I can connect with my Iphone 6 or Samsung Galaxy S7 to it via Spofify Connects. But when I use my volume buttons on the side of both mobile phones the music pauses when I'm in the Spotify app.


I've the most updated Spotify apps on both mobiles. 

Also I tried removing the device from Spotify connect, but this also did noy work.


Can this issue be resolved?


Been using Spotify Connect/Premium on Beosound Essence for 3+ years - suddenly, a couple of weeks ago, the connect feature does not work although the device is still showing as available. Beosound works fine with other sources, via Airplay etc. Contacted B&O and after testing the Essence product found no issues and they also commented that it is probably a Spotify software issue. Have disconnected/reconnected Wi-Fi and other recommended approach on Spotify support pages, with no result. Bottom line: currently unable to use my Premium account on my main stereo... 😞

Status changed to: Need more info

Hey @rickvanderklugt!


Thanks for reaching out to us.


Could you send us the iOS, Android, and Spotify version numbers? Also, are you using the speaker via WiFi or Bluetooth?


We'll see what we can suggest.


Thanks, appreciate the note/link...what a disgrace!



Status changed to: Need more info

Hi everyone!


Welcome to the Spotify Community.


Just to make sure, could you let us know which version of your Beoplay A9 Speaker you're using?


Keep us posted.