Spotify crashing when switching output device

Plan

Premium

Country

DK

Operating System

Windows 7

My Question or Issue

When I change the default output device in the Windows sound manager, Spotify crashes every time. 

With crashes, I mean it continues playing the last second or so of sound on repeat on the previous device (without any sound on the selected device), and I can't interact with it. I have to kill it via Task manager, then open it again before it can play sound on the newly selected device. 

I have been switching output device like this for over 6 months now without problems, but it started doing this recently. Did Spotify/Windows update something to break this?

Hey folks,

Glad to hear that this is now fixed for you in the latest update for the app 🙂

Let us know if you continue to experience any issues by leaving a comment below.

Thanks for your patience and cooperation!

Comments
KevalPSpotify

I'm having the exact same problem 😕 

I use Audio Switcher - but don't think that's the problem because that didn't happen before (typically use [Ctrl + Alt + 7] and [Ctrl + Alt + 8] to change to two different audio outputs)

I have to "End Process" to stop the looping. But no fix as of yet, even after updating spotify.

Any solutions?

Irusk

I'm having the same issue. Started noticing it on Wednesday, the 12th.

I'm running the web app on Win 7, 64 bit and generally use SoundSwitch to change audio devices and have done so for at least the last two years without issue. For this problem I also checked if it would occur when switching manually via the Windows Sound options. And yes, it does occur.

I also tried reinstalling Spotify, but the issue persists.

The Spotify web-app deals with the switch of audio devices just fine.

This is rather annoying and it would be awesome if it could be fixed.

sidola

Same problem here, Windows 7 x64, started to notice the issue last week.

RobTT

Same issue since last week. Desktop version/windows 7