Announcements
The Spotify Stars Program: Celebrating Values Week!

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Spotify crashing when switching output device

Plan

Premium

Country

DK

Operating System

Windows 7

My Question or Issue

When I change the default output device in the Windows sound manager, Spotify crashes every time. 

With crashes, I mean it continues playing the last second or so of sound on repeat on the previous device (without any sound on the selected device), and I can't interact with it. I have to kill it via Task manager, then open it again before it can play sound on the newly selected device. 

I have been switching output device like this for over 6 months now without problems, but it started doing this recently. Did Spotify/Windows update something to break this?

Hey folks,

Glad to hear that this is now fixed for you in the latest update for the app 🙂

Let us know if you continue to experience any issues by leaving a comment below.

Thanks for your patience and cooperation!

Comments
Odrahcyr

This bug was introduced by the last spotify update if I remember correctly.

• Win7 64bit Build 7601
  • Spotify 1.0.96.181.gf6bc1b6b
  • Realtek ALC1150
  • NVIDIA HD audio driver (417.35)

Installing Spotify 1.0.94.262.g3d5c231c fixes the problem

ghacam

Hi there,

I updated the audio drivers and re-installed Spotify, and still experience the same problem.

Here are my details:

• Spotify version: 1.0.96.181.gf6bc1b6b
  • OS and version: Windows 7
  • Since when this is happening: For a couple of months (2 months?)
  • Between which audio devices you are switching: Between laptop speakers (Lenovo Thinkpad) and monitor speakers (Philips 244E), but also between laptop speakers and plug-in headphones. Between any two devices as far a I can tell.
morrison1984

Version: 1.0.96.181.gf6bc1b6b

For at least the last month.

Device switching: I can make this happen switching any device if I play with Windows Sound.

Testotapsa