Spotify crashing when switching output device

Plan

Premium

Country

DK

Operating System

Windows 7

My Question or Issue

When I change the default output device in the Windows sound manager, Spotify crashes every time. 

With crashes, I mean it continues playing the last second or so of sound on repeat on the previous device (without any sound on the selected device), and I can't interact with it. I have to kill it via Task manager, then open it again before it can play sound on the newly selected device. 

I have been switching output device like this for over 6 months now without problems, but it started doing this recently. Did Spotify/Windows update something to break this?

Hey folks,

Glad to hear that this is now fixed for you in the latest update for the app 🙂

Let us know if you continue to experience any issues by leaving a comment below.

Thanks for your patience and cooperation!

Comments
Turbulens

Over 2 months now. Status "Under Investigation".

loled

I'm giving this another week, then cancelling my Premium as well.

SLIPITH

Fix (works for me)

Command Panel> Realtek HD Audio Manager> settings> uncheck "make front and rear output devices playback two different audio streams simultaneusly" 

Or do the same on your sound card.

khepri84

I tried but the option was already unchecked in my case and I was still having the problem.

I have one open issue on the bluetooth on the Android version of Spotify since more than one year and now this issue on the desktop version. I am really happy with the music offer but the customer support it's really disappointing so far.

We spend time reporting the issues on the forum and we get nearly no updates on the resolution and the issues are not fixed yet.

Not nice Spotify, not nice.

ponycute

I have the issue on two machines:

1) crashing on a Windows 10 machine when im switching audio output from or to a bluetooth speaker