Spotify crashing when switching output device

Plan

Premium

Country

DK

Operating System

Windows 7

My Question or Issue

When I change the default output device in the Windows sound manager, Spotify crashes every time. 

With crashes, I mean it continues playing the last second or so of sound on repeat on the previous device (without any sound on the selected device), and I can't interact with it. I have to kill it via Task manager, then open it again before it can play sound on the newly selected device. 

I have been switching output device like this for over 6 months now without problems, but it started doing this recently. Did Spotify/Windows update something to break this?

Hey folks,

Glad to hear that this is now fixed for you in the latest update for the app 🙂

Let us know if you continue to experience any issues by leaving a comment below.

Thanks for your patience and cooperation!

Comments
Turbulens

Confirmed working now.

As above said, took a bit too long to fix, but it got fixed at least.

I'll keep my Premium......for now.

Next time, handle major issues when we actually devote a lot of time to give you all the info, a bit more efficient.

Peter
Status changed to: Fixed

Hey folks,

Glad to hear that this is now fixed for you in the latest update for the app 🙂

Let us know if you continue to experience any issues by leaving a comment below.

Thanks for your patience and cooperation!

matzel

Awesome! Thanks for fixing!

fir55torm

This is still an issue for me...

skoenig

@PeterThis says fixed, but I'm still having this issue: When I switch from playing Spotify on my Macbook to my phone (Samsung Galaxy S9), the app freezes and must be closed several times, and I usually also have to switch to a new track to get it to work.

saintface