Announcements
The Spotify Stars Program: Celebrating Values Week!

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

How to "say" that I like a song?

How to "say" that I like a song?

Hi,

I'm new to Spotify, I used Apple Music and Google Play Music before. In this services you can thumb up or down a song to tell the algorithm what is your music taste. In Spotify I don't see such an rating option. I only see thumbs in the radio stations, but in the playlists not. Maybe Spotify looks for that to your library, but sometimes you like a song, but not much enough to add it to the library and you don't want to clutter your library. Also for albums: I add albums to my library but there is no option to "say" which tracks I like most from that albums.

Anyway, maybe someone can explain me how the Spotify algorithm works. How does Spotify know what I like and don't like without any rating system?

3 Replies

Hi Brasileric,

Welcome to Spotify! I hope you are loving your time with it so far. 🙂
Curious if you have you ever checked out the Your Daily Mix area? I really enjoy jumping into it myself to see what I might discover.
Spotify will curate 6 playlists for you based on what you already love to listen to and then throw in very similar or same artists/songs for you to check out. These are based on your current library and categorized by similar genres. You will likely see alot of the same songs you already saved or ones you just really love - plus more from that artist or similar ones.
In the playlist you can continue to tell Spotify you like it (heart) or don't want it in there (remove). It then continues to "learn" based on your daily listening. (screenshot 1)

This is the best function I know of to tailor your tastes and I often jump into it when I want to listen to usual favorites or hope to find a few surprises along the same lines.