Announcements
The Spotify Stars Program: Celebrating Values Week!

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

[PS4] poor audio quality

[PS4] poor audio quality

I'm trialling Spotify premium but I'm finding the audio quality on the ps4 app has a very tinny muffled sound. I have a fibre connection and other apps like YouTube \iPlayer\Amazon which also have video have significantly better audio. I'm not expecting CD quality but it is now where neat what I think is worth paying for.

Is this something that will be improved?
92 Replies

^

Go to PS4 audio options in the settings and change the output to DTS (it's probably linear by default). This will give you bass and slightly better Spotify sound quality, it's what I use now. It's not great but it's at least passable. Barely.

There is a very real problem. I have been using Spotify premium since 2009. I upgraded my system last fall, and in the process changed the source from Apple TV to PS4. Ever since I haven't been happy with the system, and first I thought my new amp is not powerful enough for my new speakers. We finally identified the source of the problem, when we started renting movies via the PS4 amazon app. The movies have hugely better audio than Spotify. There is no question about it. Moreover, this cannot be about the hardware set-up since the hardware is the same: Spotify vs amazon PS4 app. The problem is so apparent that nowadays also my wife rather uses YouTube for streaming music than Spotify. If there is no fix in the near future, I think I am going to get Bluesound and change for Tidal.

I'd just like to add a "me too" to this. The sound is so bad that it's not worth listening to the free version let alone paying for premium. Like others i get great sound from other sources and apps. Please fix this spotify/sony, I've just bought a new phone and amp and this feature was one of the key reasons.

Glad I'm not the only one experiencing this issue.