Announcements
The Spotify Stars Program: Celebrating Values Week!

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Songs keep skipping by themselves. HELP.

Solved!

Songs keep skipping by themselves. HELP.

I'm using a free plan and using a HP pavilion Chromebook on Chrome OS 65. 

I cannot download the actual spotify player because im on Chromebook so i use the web player a lot but recently whenever a start a song, it skips after 2 second, then again and for every song. It just keeps skipping after a couple seconds. 

I've went through a lot of threads but they were all from around 2014 so i created a new one, if there is a new answer.

122 Replies

Hi all,

I am a teacher on my school provided device as well (chromebook), and do not have access to Google Play downloads. I did try opening Spotify in an incognito tab, and this issue continued.

This issue only started yesterday, so something recently changed I believe if this is happening to multiple users. 

Premium user here too! Same issue since yesterday 😞

Same problem with no results from incognito or Android App, tried everything.  First noticed the problem Monday, Oct. 5.  School chromebook; premium user.  I will find another premium service if this isn't fixed soon.  Please respond to these many users, Spotify!

I had the same problem but it returned to normal after I turned off developer mode on my Chromebook and it rebooted so I think the key here is either turning developer mode off or just totally rebooting/reset to factory mode. hope this helps!

Issue:

Songs will play for at most 2-3 seconds before freezing and skipping

resolution attempts: 

Download the appstore app (still skips)

Incognito tab (Still skips)

update speaker settings (limited on a chromebook, still skips)

Factory reset chromebook (Still skips)

I am a premium member, and cant even use the service, i would like to know if im going to even get something back for the service im paying to not be able to use at this point