Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Spotify Connect works too well

Solved!

Spotify Connect works too well

I am experiencing something quite strange with Spotify Connect. I have a pretty standard set-up: Yamaha RX-V475 receiver, HTC One, and a normal home LAN with a standard router. The receiver is on the LAN and I can, as one would expect, fire it up and get music playing via my HTC in a few taps. As I understand it, Spotify Connect uses the network, and the amp and my phone are on the same network, just as long as my phone is connected to the wi-fi.

But here's the thing: It works even when it isn't connected to the wi-fi. I discovered this when I got home after a long journey on a train with onboard wi-fi. I was surprised to see the receiver still present in the Spotify Connect device selection page, and more so when I started playing music and the little icon lit up green (and no audio came out of the phone). I got home a couple of hours later to my wife asking why the new amp was turning on of its own accord and playing music.

At this point, to be honest, I didn't even put two and two together. I just assumed some bug had caused the amp to switch on briefly. But after this happened a few times, I decided to test it. I switch the wi-fi off on my phone, and I see the Spotify Connect icon disappear and go dark. About five seconds later, after the phone switches over to 4G, it's back again. I hit Play and after a few seconds of delay, the amp switches on and the track plays.

I am at my desk right now, controlling the amp in the other room, and the phone is not on the wi-fi. to be doubly sure Spotify isn't connecting to wi-fi silently, I checked the log of the router, and the currently connected devices list, and it isn't shown. What's more if I lose cell signal (the front of the house has no signal) then I do really get disconncted from Connect and cannot control anything.

Is there an explanation for this?!

Accepted Solutions
Marked as solution