Solved!
Highlighted

Re: Spotify doesn’t play on Bose SoundTouch anymore

Regular
Pls look into ths.. Been having ths
For months.
Highlighted

I can confirm that it has not been fixed. This issue is still active and is afectinc my ST30 and ST10

Highlighted

Casual Listener

Hi Mario et al at Spotify.

I know it doesn't explain why (some) others have gotten their connection to work and some not. But I've had these issues on and off in the past as well. And now I decided to do some troubleshooting of it, and I think I may have found an issue which probably affects more people that just myself. (And I should perhaps mention that I work as a networking professional and have specialized in WiFi specifically the past 16 or so years (and with that comes a lot of LAN and IP network troubleshooting which is more generic.)
The problem I've found is that when the Spotify app (I'm running iOS 13.3.1 on an iPhone 😎 does a search for the speaker(s) it sends a multicast DNS request on the local LAN to address 224.0.0.251 on UDP port 5353 (multicast DNS, mDNS) asking for _spotify-connect._tcp.local
However, it does so with an IP TTL of only 1. And though the thought behind doing so (which most likely is to limit it to only the local subnet), is good, it overlooks the real meaning of the IP TTL and what the RFC for Internet Protocol says.