Announcements

Collaborative Playlist deleted by a rando! SO frustrated!!!

Collaborative Playlist deleted by a rando! SO frustrated!!!

Hi all,

 

I know this issue has been addressed *multiple*  times in the forums, but I'm going to share this story in hopes of hustling things along.

 

My sister and I have been working on a collaborative playlist for a few years. It's a carefully curated playlist for a vibe we feel doesn't get enough love. We set it to collaborative, since we live in different states. Over the past couple of years we've gathered about 25 followers.

 

Every once in a while some rando will add songs to the playlist, which we delete. It's kinda rude, but whatever.

 

In the last few months we've been getting  more and more of these additions. And then last week - someone DELETED all the songs on our playlist!!! Spotify was thankfully able to restore it, but we were both upset. I didn't change the settings (foolishly) since I thought it must have been an accident or something. But then today, it got DELETED AGAIN!! Guys, this was a multiple-hours-long playlist built with my sister over several years. You can understand how upset I was/am (it did get restored the second time, though, thank goodness).

 

Idk if this is a bot or just some vengeful troll with a really weird agenda, but why would I ever use the collaborative features again if some random person/bot can just delete all my hard-curated music. I don't even know who did it, other than the  Spotify agent said it was someone who followed the playlist.

 

We really, really, really need a way to give collaborative access to only people we approve. I am very sad and mad that I'm going to have to find a workaround for this.

 

Reply
3 Replies

Hi @s87,

 

Thanks for reaching out to the Community! Just a heads-up: we moved your post to the Help board as it's more relevant.

 

I completely understand your frustration with this. The thing with collaborative playlists is that anyone who the playlist was shared it can add new tracks or delete old ones. To prevent this from happening again, you can try one of the following:

 

  • Copy the compromised playlist's content in the desktop app (you can select all songs in the playlist with Ctrl + A on Windows; Cmd + A on Mac), create a new playlist that hasn't been shared with anyone yet and paste the tracks in the new playlist. It'd be best if you shared it only with your sister.
  • If you'd like others to see the playlist you've been working on, you can disable the Collaborative Playlist option in the app as soon as you've made changes. That way when you share the playlist, it won't be collaborative, so the people you shared the playlist with won't be able to add or remove songs from it. When you or your sister would like to add a new song, the playlist's owner sets it once again to Collaborative, the song is added and the Collaborative function is disabled.

 

Hope this info was useful. The Community is always here if there's anything else you need assistance with.

 

Cheers!

YordanModerator
Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution".
If you appreciate an answer, maybe give it a Like.
Are you new to the Community? Take a moment to introduce yourself!

This is a poor solution. Spotify has the concept of individual users. Distinct user permissions for editing playlists should be a high-priority feature. Users should be able to enable private or public collaboration.

Hey @bumbleup,

 

All collaborators can have assigned roles, some can only listen to the playlist, while others may add/remove songs.
This is all dependent on the role you've assigned to them 🙂

VasilModerator
Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution".
If you appreciate an answer, maybe give it a Like.
Are you new to the Community? Take a moment to introduce yourself!

Suggested posts