Announcements
The Spotify Stars Program: Celebrating Values Week!

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

[Community][Other] User language: respect browser settings and user preferences

[Community][Other] User language: respect browser settings and user preferences

I speak English. I moved from the UK to Belgium. Guess what: I still speak English.

My browser is telling the website with every request that I prefer English (Accept-Language headers). But you're asking me to manage my preferences in French, a language that I'm still a beginner in. This isn't good customer service, is it?

Proposal: The website should use in order of priority

a) the user's selected language (in the case where they've actively told Spotify they prefer a given language)

and only if this is absent (or the user is not logged in)

b) the browser's Accept-Language headers

and only if both of those are absent

c) the language(s) indicated by the country the user has indicated they're in (NB that this is problematic for multilingual countries like Belgium)

and only if all three of those are absent

d) the language(s) indicated by the user's apparent IP address.

Furthermore: the website should have a "language" drop-down in the top-right of every page; this is basically standard user interface design these days. Making someone try and navigate settings in a language they don't speak in order to find the "language" option isn't good customer service.

5 Replies

Hi @pseudomonas,

Thank you for posting on the Community!

We've moved your post to this help board because we have some questions about your submission.

It's not clear to us if you're having this issue with the Community website, the Spotify website or the Web Player. Could you clarify that with us? 

We'll be on the lookout.

MafeGModerator
Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution".
If you appreciate an answer, maybe give it a Like.
Are you new to the Community? Take a moment to introduce yourself!