Announcements
The Spotify Stars Program: Celebrating Values Week!

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

How do I import Itunes playlists

How do I import Itunes playlists

Hi,

I'm new at Spotify and i cant import my playlists from Itunes into Spotify. When i click *File -> Import Playlist -> Itunes* nothing happens.

Please help me

Greetings Enno

38 Replies

Try following this https://support.spotify.com/uk/using_spotify/playlists/import-playlists-from-itunes/

Import playlists from iTunes

You can import your iTunes playlists to Spotify easily:

First, make sure your playlists have been shared from iTunes. To do this:

1. Open iTunes.
  2. Head to Preferences.
  3. Select Advanced.
  4. Tick Share iTunes Library XML with other applications.

Then, open Spotify and import your playlists:

1. Click on File in the menu bar.
  2. Select Import Playlists from the drop-down menu.
  3. Click iTunes.

Now you’ll see all your iTunes playlists added in a playlist folder called iTunes.

Note: Spotify supports .mp3, .mp4, and .m4p files. If QuickTime is installed on your computer then .m4a files are also supported. We’ll do our best to match any unsupported local files with songs from the Spotify catalog.

Done all of that naturally, the Spotify program doesn't work with importing playlists from any media players it lists, just does nothing everytime, I tried it with itunes open and closed, restarted pc, checked for updates, reinstalled itunes, reinstalled spotify, no luck, simple feature to have broken more than it works.

Same here, no iTunes folder is created...

+1 - still doesn't work

I get the iTunes folder with only two of my iTunes playlists - one of which contains songs that I don't know.  Very frustrating!

Neil

What about an alternative for Mac users?

I keep my iTunes folder (and therefore the Playlist) on an external drive. Maybe Spotify is only looking in the default location?

The problem, I believe, is that Spotify won't import smart playlists from iTunes.