How do I import Itunes playlists

How do I import Itunes playlists

Enno

Hi,

I'm new at Spotify and i cant import my playlists from Itunes into Spotify. When i click *File -> Import Playlist -> Itunes* nothing happens.

Please help me

Greetings Enno

38 Replies

Raggle23

Thank you my friend!

dustin91
Casual Listener

It worked! Excellent idea!

Doesn't seem to have updated on my iPhone app, but I'll just leave that and the desktop app open overnight, and see what it looks like in the morning. Maybe the iOS app doesn't sync as quickly.

dustin91
Casual Listener

I keep my iTunes folder (and therefore the Playlist) on an external drive. Maybe Spotify is only looking in the default location?

fredbram1
Casual Listener

The problem, I believe, is that Spotify won't import smart playlists from iTunes.

sandeepde

RE iTunes2Spotify

Thank you for this - first solution I've found to actually work on importing playlists into Spotify. Even the built in integration Spotify previously had never worked correctly, nor did any of the web based conversion solutions I've tried to convert / replicate a local library in Spotify. 

FPSP

What about an alternative for Mac users?

DragosNic

On Mac I don't have in the File menu Import function.

bhavs
Casual Listener

Use the slider in preferences for iTunes

jiguma

I get the iTunes folder with only two of my iTunes playlists - one of which contains songs that I don't know.  Very frustrating!

Neil

jairosk8
Music Fan

Try following this https://support.spotify.com/uk/using_spotify/playlists/import-playlists-from-itunes/

Import playlists from iTunes

You can import your iTunes playlists to Spotify easily:

First, make sure your playlists have been shared from iTunes. To do this:

1. Open iTunes.
  2. Head to Preferences.
  3. Select Advanced.
  4. Tick Share iTunes Library XML with other applications.

Then, open Spotify and import your playlists:

1. Click on File in the menu bar.