Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Local files questions

Local files questions

I'm a noob, so please be patient 😉

1. When viewing a playlist I made, how do I know which files are local? I assume people I share my playlists with cannot see local files and I want to exclude local songs.

2. I have a rather large iTunes library... about 90,000 songs. I started to sync (if that's the right term) my iTunes library with Spotify but the indicator said it would take over 200 hours! I have a super fast computer and Internet connection. Does this sound right?

Thanks.

3 Replies

Hey @jooks99, welcome to the Community 🙂

Your local files will be marked with a specific sign. I'll show you a screenshot:

First 2 are Spotify songs, second 2 are my local files.First 2 are Spotify songs, second 2 are my local files.Local songs are greyed out for other people. Users who have allowed showing the greyed out/unavailable content in Preferences will see them, others will not.

About the iTunes library: 90 thousand tracks is a huge amount of songs! Spotify will add local files / sync files a little slower than, say, Foobar (and about as fast as Windows Media Player. I have tried.)

Also, I suggest reading this article on local files and the few restrictions to keep in mind. 🙂

Let me know if you need more help!

SebastySpotify Star
Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution".
If you appreciate my answer, maybe give me a Like.
Note: I'm not a Spotify employee.

Thanks for the response!

I started to sync my iTunes library and then quit. Meanwhile, I added 2 songs to a playlist which I couldn't find initially on Spotify. They don't appear any different in the playlist than the tracks I added from Spotify. Perhaps I overlooked the 2 tracks in my first search and they are on Spotify. [If you have time to check, one is "Looking For My Baby" by The Nite Riders.]