Announcements

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Spotify Family and Connect only works on Owner, Why?

Solved!

Spotify Family and Connect only works on Owner, Why?

Plan

Spotify Family

Country

Netherlands

Device

Samsung Galaxy S7, HTC M9

Operating System

Android Oreo, Android Nougat

My Question or Issue

So i just signed up for a Spotify Family Member ship.

This is my for Spotify experiance and it's disapoiting so far.

After i signed up i started playing some music true my Heos Hs1 in the living room.

Worked, then i signed up my daughter and wanted her to show how to play here playlists on her own Heos Hs1 in her bedroom.

Somhow her phone doesn't show any compatible devices.

She has her own Spotify account aswell as her own Heos Account.

When i login with my account on her phone then i see all available compatible devices.

Both Heos speakers are on the same network and we can stream with the heos app to those speakers.

After doing some searching i discovered the family plan fails on this point and only one account can stream.

Why the **bleep** is that or am i doing something wrong?

Accepted Solutions
Marked as solution

Thx for the heads up.

Already tried to create a new account but that didn't work.

But shame on me and should see the culprit earlier before starting a topic overhere.

Let me explain:

At home i run my own VPN server (PiVPN) in combination with PiHole on a Raspberry Pi3 to block adverts and tracking stuff.

So basicly everywhere in the world we can access our home network and enjoy PiHole by using OpenVPN to connect to PiVPN 😉

Now here comes the weirdest part of all.

PiHole somehow blocked access to Spotify Connect on my daughter her phone while on my and wifes phone it was whitlisted out of the box.

So i disabled the blacklisted Spotify Connect part and voila every works, now she can stream to every speaker in our home.

View solution in original post

4 Replies

Hey @Siewert308SW, help's arrived.